While math is not directly tied to my role as a writer, I believe it's important I have a rudimentary understanding of Google Analytics, to ensure my work is performing well.

This is probably because they don’t prepare for the question properly and freeze up, afraid to say the wrong thing. To ensure you're performing at 100 percent, you mention personal steps you've taken to improve your organization skills for the sake of self-improvement alone, which suggests a level of maturity and self-awareness. “Don’t panic,” Smith says. Make sure you admit the weakness, pivot to the insight, and end on a strong note. Additionally, it's impressive if you can show you're willing to reach out to your manager with areas in which you want to improve, instead of waiting for your manager to suggest those areas of improvement to you -- it demonstrates a level of ambition and professional maturity. Additionally, you display an eagerness to develop strategies to combat your weakness, which is a critical skill in the workplace. 6.

Here’s why: 1) A great candidate is always looking for ways to learn and grow, 2) A fabulous candidate then takes the initiative to improve.

This shows that you are self-aware, have a drive to be your best, and that the weakness will not slow you down. Don’t pick a “weakness” like “I’m such a hard worker” or “I’m too much of a perfectionist.” Going down that route will backfire, because it comes off as disingenuous, oblivious, or immature—and none of those are qualities that’ll get you the job. In this sample answer, the candidate makes it clear that she has no trouble communicating in general (which could be a red flag).